XenoDream Forums

Full Version: Understanding Color
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Dear Garth,

I am a newbie using XenoDream 2.6 running under Windows 7 Pro and slowly working through the “Using XenoDream 2.6” manual.

I have a cursory understanding of how color works with raster images and with vector images. Raster images are made up of collection of color pixels whereas vector images are made up of math-defined “elements” (i.e., points, lines, and shapes) for which a color property is specified as either a color or a gradient.

I am trying to understand how color works in XenoDream. Pages 6-7 of the “Using XenoDream 2.6” manual say that images are created with “points” (which can be clearly visible as objects are progressively displayed in the Preview Window of the Main Window). What are these “points”? How do these “points” relate to raster or to vector images?

Thank you!

Doctor T
The points are random samples in the 3D object. For rendering we have a grid of pixels and additional information such as depth and shadows. For each point we find the nearest pixel, see if it's in front of the current depth at that pixel and if so, put the new color and depth into that pixel. (With color anti-aliasing, or transparency, there is some blurring of the colors at the pixel, depending on relative depths.) So a raster image results from accumulating these point samples. But the image only has the flat colors that depend on the position within each holon. So the lighting calculations are needed as a second step to see what the effects of shining lights on the object would be. The raster image you see in rendering is an intermediate view with raw colors.