How to? Scales: Relationship and Meaning
Question 
Hi!

I am a newbie using XenoDream 2.6 running under Windows 7 Pro and slowly working through the “Using XenoDream 2.6” manual.

To create a one-holon object, without changing the Holon Scale (currently set at 0) or the Metamorph Scale (currently set at 10), as the first metamorph (i.e., shape), I created a Constructor/Cube, which almost filled the PreView Window. That is, it was impossible to visualize.

Then, I changed, the Metamorph Scale to 5 and, then, the yellow cube was clearly visible and centered on the PreView Window.

I have to questions:

1 - What is the relationship between the Holon Scale and the Metamorph Scale?

2 - Is there a unit of measurement associated with the values of the scales? That is, when I changed the value of the Metamorph Scale to 5, I changed it to 5 what?

Thank you!

Doctor T
The metamorph scale is specific to the metamorph (of which there may be two for a holon). For a constructor style it usually adjusts the size (for a few of them it was necessary to use it for something else); for other metamorphs it usually adjusts something related to scale, but not always.

The holon scale parameters adjust the X, Y and Z scales of the holon. This happens before any metamorphs are applied, unless the Metamorph's Rescale option is checked, in which case the holon scales come after the metamorph. A constructor overrides the holon scales unless Rescale is checked. Use Rescale to let the holon scales change a constructor's size differently in each direction. Reorient lets the holon rotations affect a constructor.

There are no units for the scales, so all distances are relative.
(06-10-2017, 11:10 AM)Garth Thornton Wrote: ... There are no units for the scales, so all distances are relative.

Dear Garth,

Thank you for your reply.

Relative to what?  Is there a base value?

Doctor T